• Email Us


    Thank you for contacting us!

    Required fields not completed correctly.

  • Contact Us

    Northwest Ohio sports news web site featuring local & national games, news, video, streaming audio, real-time scores, Blachard River Buzz and much more.


    Sports Buzz at The Courier

    701 W. Sandusky St.

    Findlay, OH. 45840


    email us

Prep Football: Elmwood’s Smith, Meeker lead area all-NBC picks

Genoa’s Kyle Nutter was named back of the year and teammate Nick Keller earned lineman of the honors as the Northern Buckeye Conference named its all-league football team.
Elmwood senior receiver Derick Mobus was named to the second team offense, while Royals senior Michael Meeker was a second team pick at linebacker.
Elmwood senior running back Michael Smith was honorable mention at running back, as was junior Sawyer Haines at defensive end and senior Zach Foster at defensive back. Fostoria seniors Antonio Reynolds (defensive back) and Keanu Crowe (linebacker) were also honorable mention selections.

First Team Offense
Quarterback — Ryan Smoyer, sr., Otsego. Running backs — Kyle Nutter, sr., Genoa; Ian Stolar, jr., Rossford; Isaiah Conkle, sr., Center — Nick Keller, sr., Genoa. Guards — Logan Bryer, jr., Genoa; Adam Wolf, sr., Eastwood. Tackles — Michael Dieter, jr., Genoa; Kyle Robbins, sr., Rossford. Tight end — AC Limes, sr., Otsego. Receivers — Nate Hackworth, sr.,  Otsego; Ben Swartz, sr., Lake. Kicker — Cody Pickard, so., Genoa.
Defensive tackles — Michael Dieter, jr., Genoa; Adam Wolf, sr., Eastwood; Mike Girona, sr., Otsego. Defensive ends — Logan Bryer, jr., Genoa; Jacob Cowell, jr., Rossford. Linebackers — AC Limes, sr., Otsego; Nick Keller, sr., Genoa; Kyle Nutter, sr., Genoa; Nick Walsh, jr., Lake. Defensive backs — Skylar Dierker, sr., Eastwood; Jake Young, sr., Genoa; Ben Swartz, sr., Lake; Sean McCormick, sr., Rossford. Punter — Brennan Seifert, so., Eastwood.
Back of the Year — Kyle Nutter, Genoa
Lineman of the Year — Nick Keller, Genoa
Quarterback — Jared Rettig, so., Lake; Running backs – David Nutter, jr., Genoa; Brent Schlumbohm, jr., Eastwood; Cody Down, jr., Otsego. Center —  Hunter Donald, sr., Otsego. Guards — Mike Girona, sr., Otsego; John Belsky, sr., Genoa; Tackles — Shane VavVorce, jr., Eastwood; Dameon Nigh, so., Otsego. Tight end — Blake Kohring, sr., Eastwood. Receivers — Connor Bowen, so., Lake; Derick Mobus, sr., Elmwood; Chris Salaz, sr., Lake. Kicker — Derek Snowden, sr., Eastwood.
Second Team Defense
Defensive tackles — Michael Welch, sr., Rossford;  Zach Roberts, sr., Genoa; Max Reeder, jr., Genoa. Defensive ends — Hunter Donald, sr., Otsego; Zach Brossia, sr., Woodmore. Linebackers — Ryan Reed, jr., Rossford; Ryan Mang, jr., Eastwood; Michael Meeker, sr., Elmwood; Grant Geiser, so., Eastwood. Defensive backs — Evan Ulinski, jr., Woodmore; Devin Snowden, so., Eastwood; Cody Dowens, jr., Otsego; Casey Gose, jr., Genoa. Punter — Ryan Clay, sr., Rossford.
Honorable Mention Offense
Quarterback — Jake Matwiejzcyk, Woodmore. Running backs — Michael Smith, Elmwood; Ryan Espinoza, Genoa; Ryan Clay, Rossford. Linemen — Jacob Rahe, Eastwood; Danny Munoz, Woodmore;  Josh Maas, Rossford; Jake Rothert, Woodmore; Jacob Hankish, Lake. Receivers — Quentin Spiess, Genoa;  Casey Gose, Genoa; Evan Ulinski, Woodmore; Jerome Griffin, Otsego. Kicker — Malachi Brown, Otsego.
Honorable Mention Defense
Linemen — Jake Rothert, Woodmore; Brad Radabaugh, Eastwood; Tyler Harp, Lake; Sawyer Haines, Elmwood; Blake Kohring, Eastwood.  Linebackers — Ryan Espinoza, Genoa; Jonathan Stockhard, Rossford; Keanu Crowe, Fostoria; Drake Johnson, Otsego. Defensive backs — Antonio Reynolds, Fostoria; Zach Foster, Elmwood; Cole Gorski, Otsego; Dan Sprinski, Woodmore. Punter — Ryan Smoyer, Otsego.