• Email Us


    Thank you for contacting us!

    Required fields not completed correctly.

  • Contact Us

    Northwest Ohio sports news web site featuring local & national games, news, video, streaming audio, real-time scores, Blachard River Buzz and much more.


    Sports Buzz at The Courier

    701 W. Sandusky St.

    Findlay, OH. 45840


    email us

Prep Soccer: Findlay’s Lewis, Gerardi lead area all-TRAC selections

A pair of Findlay High School players picked up first-team awards as the Three Rivers Athletic Conference released its all-conference boys soccer selections.
Junior Aaron Lewis and senior Matt Gerardi both made the first team for the Trojans. Lewis tied for team lead this season with nine goals and seven assists while Gerardi netted six goals and eight assists as the Trojans posted a 9-6-3 overall record.
Senior Juan Maldonado, junior Max MacDonald and senior Caleb Short made the all-TRAC second team. Ryan LaRiche, Brandon Gault and Mason Hill were honorable mention picks.
Toledo St. John’s Matt Almester was the TRAC Player of the Year while Toledo St. Francis’ Brendan Brown and Toledo Whitmer’s Ryan Wecher were selected as the TRAC Goalkeeper of the Year.
Toledo St. John’s Tim Concannon was named the TRAC Coach of the Year.

First Team
Matt Almester, Sr., Toledo St. John’s; Brendan Brown, Sr., Toledo St. Francis; Ryan Wicher, Sr., Toledo Whitmer; Jeff Anderson, Sr., Toledo St. John’s; Will Hartman, Sr., Toledo Central Catholic; Andrew Husted, Sr., Toledo St. Francis; Nick Ganza, Sr., Toledo St. John’s; Camden Buescher, Soph., Toledo St. John’s; Aaron Lewis, Jr., Findlay; Matt Gerardi, Sr., Findlay; Mason Andrews, Sr., Toledo Whitmer; Gabe Mendoza, Soph., Oregon Clay; Colin Clarke, Fr., Toledo St. Francis; Ian Gulley, Jr., Lima Senior; Kevin Olszewski, Sr., Toledo St. Francis.
Player of the Year —  Matt Almester, Sr., Toledo St. John’s.
Goalkeepers of the Year — Brendan Brown, Sr., Toledo St. Francis & Ryan Wecher, Sr., Toledo Whitmer.
Coach of the Year —  Tim Concannon, Toledo St. John’s.
Second Team
Fabian Ramirez, Jr., Fremont Ross; Juan Maldonado, Sr., Findlay; Anthony Csizek, Sr., Oregon Clay; Tommy Troy, Sr., Toledo Central Catholic; Alex Ehora, Soph., Lima Senior; Jayson Flores, Sr., Toledo Whitmer; Bailey Crawford, Jr., Toledo St. John’s; Jake Micham, Soph., Toledo St. Francis; Adam Naayers, Jr., Toledo St. John’s; Karim Rezk, Sr., Toledo St. Francis; Keegan Winkler, Fr., Toledo St. Francis; Max McDonald, Jr., Findlay; Caleb Short, Sr., Findlay; Aaron Hossler, Sr., Fremont Ross.
Honorable Mention
TOLEDO CENTRAL CATHOLIC — Conor Maloney, Jr.; Curtis Newell, Soph.; Hunter Riccio, Jr. OREGON CLAY — Dean Shousher, Sr.; Alex Dempsey, Sr.; Jimmy Murphy, Sr. FINDLAY — Ryan LaRiche, Sr.; Brandon Gault, Soph., Mason Hill, Soph. FREMONT ROSS — Ben Morroney, Jr.; Nathan Domiray, Soph.; Victor Navarro, Fr. LIMA SENIOR — Dylan Goodman; Isiah Simpson; Doug Sodders. TOLEDO ST. FRANCIS — Anthony Weltin, Soph.;  Benn Zepp, soph.; Matt Lenz, Jr. TOLEDO ST. JOHN’S — Luis Gomez, Jr.; Hayden Neese, Jr.; Johnathan Cooper, Soph. TOLEDO WHITMER — Austin Burgers, Sr.; Jon Buehler, Sr.; James Dietz, Sr.