• Email Us


    Thank you for contacting us!

    Required fields not completed correctly.

  • Contact Us

    Northwest Ohio sports news web site featuring local & national games, news, video, streaming audio, real-time scores, Blachard River Buzz and much more.


    Sports Buzz at The Courier

    701 W. Sandusky St.

    Findlay, OH. 45840


    email us

College Wrestling: UF still ranked 8th in NCAA Division II

COLLEGE WRESTLING: UF still 8th in NCAA Division II rankings
EDMOND, Okla. — Nebraska-Kearney maintained its perch atop the NCAA Division II wrestling rankings by the slimmest of margins Thursday, edging Newberry (S.C.) by one point in the new Division II Wrestling Coaches Association poll.
The defending champion Lopers earned four first-place votes and finished with 150 points in balloting of head coaches from around the country to stay No. 1, with the Wolves picking up three first-vote votes and 149 points for second.
Seven-time Division II champion Central Oklahoma received the other first-place nod and was five points behind Newberry in third place, while St. Cloud State (Minn.) came in fourth by two points over Upper Iowa.
Rounding out the top 10 is Grand Canyon (Ariz.), Notre Dame (Ohio), Findlay (Ohio) Minnesota State-Mankato, Ouachita Baptist (Ark.) and West Liberty (W.Va.).
The top nine teams in the poll along with No. 13 Augustana (S.D.), No. 17 Wisconsin-Parkside, No. 19 Fort Hays State (Kan.) and No. 20 Kutztown (Pa.) will be competing in the 16-team NWCA Division II National Duals Jan. 12-13 in Springfield, Ill.
Nebraska-Kearney is led by top-ranked 149-pounder Raufeon Stotts, while Newberry and Central Oklahoma both have six wrestlers in the individual rankings.
The top 20 poll, with points and each team’s last ranking following by the individual rankings at each weight:

Rank  School (State) Points Last Ranking
1.  Nebraska-Kearney  150 1st
2.  Newberry (S.C.) 149 5th
3.  Central Oklahoma  144 2nd
4.  St. Cloud State (Minn.)  135 3rd
5.  Upper Iowa 133 4th
6.  Grand Canyon (Ariz.)  125 6th
7.  Notre Dame (Ohio) 113 7th
8.  Findlay (Ohio)  104 8th
9.  Minnesota State-Mankato 99 9th
T10. Ouachita Baptist (Ark.) 77 10th
T10. West Liberty (W.Va.) 77 12th
12.  Pittsburgh-Johnstown (Pa.) 67 11th
13.  Augustana (S.D.) 45 14th
14.  Colorado Mesa 44 17th
15.  Maryville (Mo.) 42 13th
16.  Adams State (Colo.) 40 18th
17.  Wisconsin-Parkside  38 16th
18 . Ashland (Ohio) 37 T-20th
19.  Fort Hays State (Kan.) 22 NR
20.  Kutztown (Pa.) 20 15th
Others receiving votes:  Indianapolis (Ind.), Lake Erie (Ohio), Mercyhurst (Pa.), North Carolina-Pembroke, Shippensburg (Pa.), Tiffin (Ohio).

125 Pounds
1. Jesse Hillhouse, Colorado State-Pueblo
2. Kyle McCrite, Grand Canyon (Ariz.)
3. David Demo, Minnesota State-Mankato
4. Alex Johns, Indianapolis (Ind.)
5. Jeff Vesta, Newberry (S.C.)
6. Ben Sergent, Findlay (Ohio)
7. Chris Kochinsky, Shippensburg (Pa.)
8. Garrett Evans, Ouachita Baptist (Ark.)
133 Pounds
1. Trevor Franklin, Upper Iowa
2. Andy Pokorny, St. Cloud State (Minn.)
3. Casy Rowell, Central Oklahoma
4. Michael Labry, Ashland (Ohio)
5. Justin Reinsma, Southwest Minnesota
6. Daniel DeShazer, Nebraska-Kearney
7. Jeremiah Peterson, Augustana (S.D.)
8. Dave Fogle, Pittsburgh-Johnstown (Pa.)
141 Pounds
1. Daniel Ownbey, North Carolina-Pembroke
2. B.J. Young, Newberry (S.C.)
3. Trevor Johnson, Mary (N.D.)
4. Naveed Bagheri, San Francisco State (Calif.)
5. Josh Myers, Ouachita Baptist (Ark.)
6. C.J. Napier, Fort Hays State (Kan.)
7. Ryan Fillingame, Adams State (Colo.)
8. Maurice Miller, Notre Dame (Ohio)
149 Pounds
1. Raufeon Stotts, Nebraska-Kearney
2. Jordan Basks, Central Oklahoma
3. Bobby Ward, Grand Canyon (Ariz.)
4. Keenan Hagerty, Maryville (Mo.)
5. Nate Herda, Augustana (S.D.)
6. Dan Telhada, Anderson (S.C.)
7. Ryan Maus, Truman State (Mo.)
8. Deral Brown, Newberry (S.C.)
157 Pounds
1. Dillon Bera, Wisconsin-Parkside
2. Bryce Lumzy, Upper Iowa
3. Jon Gappmaier, Colorado Mesa
4. Derek Koehn, Fort Hays State (Kan.)
5. Bobby Williams, Ouachita Baptist (Ark.)
6. Taylor Knapp, Newberry (S.C.)
7. Braden Turner, East Stroudsburg State (Pa.)
8. Jeffery Pelton, Notre Dame (Ohio)
165 Pounds
1. Joey Davis, Notre Dame (Ohio)
2. Blake Ridenour, Newberry (S.C.)
3. Matt Vandermeer, Lake Erie (Ohio)
4. Cody Quinn, Minnesota State-Mankato
5. Wade Gobin, Upper Iowa
6. Mason True, Findlay (Ohio)
7. Chris Watson, Central Oklahoma
8. Isaiah Jimenez, San Francisco State (Calif.)
174 Pounds
1. Mike Williams, North Carolina-Pembroke
2. Elliot Copeland, Western State (Colo.)
3. Travis Sheehy, Newberry (S.C.)
4. Kelly Henderson, Central Oklahoma
5. Jake Cramer, Tiffin (Ohio)
6. Brendon Eichmann, Minnesota State-Mankato
7. Blake Sorenson, Upper Iowa
8. Zak Slotten, Colorado Mesa
184 Pounds
1. Adam Walters, Findlay (Ohio)
2. Shamus O’Grady, St. Cloud State (Minn.)
3. Dallas Smith, Ouachita Baptist (Ark.)
4. Tanner Keck, Central Oklahoma
5. Aaron Norgren, Minnesota State-Mankato
6. Mitch Schultz, Upper Iowa
7. Matt Gille, Wisconsin-Parkside
8. Travis McKillop, Pittsburgh-Johnstown (Pa.)
197 Pounds
1. Carl Broghammer, Upper Iowa
2. Matt Baker, Maryville (Mo.)
3. Joe Brandt, Ashland (Ohio)
4. Celic Bell, Grand Canyon (Ariz.)
5. Jayd Docken, Augustana (S.D.)
6. Tanner Kriss, Fort Hays State (Kan.)
7. Matt Lenagh, Nebraska-Kearney
8. Tyson Searer, East Stroudsburg (Pa.)
285 Pounds
1. Matt Meuleners, Northern State (S.D.)
2. Jake Kahnke, St. Cloud State (Minn.)
3. Tyrell Fortune, Grand Canyon (Ariz.)
4. James Malechek, Wisconsin-Parkside
5. Orlando Scales, Notre Dame (Ohio)
6. Ziad Haddad, Kutztown (Pa.)
7. Andrew Tumlin, Findlay (Ohio)
8. Cody Dauphin, Central Oklahoma

Wauseon  4-0
Archbold  3-1
Liberty Center 3-1
Delta   3-1
Montpelier  2-2
Bryan   1-3
Swanton  1-3
Patrick Henry 1-5
Evergreen  0-4
Thursday, Dec. 6
Bryan 51, Evergreen 9
Delta 51, Bryan 16
Liberty Center 46, Patrick Henry 30
Liberty Center 39, Montpelier 23
Montpelier 43, Swanton 26
Swanton 42, Patrick Henry 34
Wauseon 51, Delta 22
Wauseon 75, Evergreen 6

Thursday, Dec. 13
Archbold 60, Patrick Henry 18
Delta 42, Archbold 34
Patrick Henry 30, Evergreen 27
Delta def. Evergreen

Thursday, Dec. 20
Archbold 48, Liberty Center 38
Archbold 72, Montpelier 0
Delta 75, Patrick Henry 6
Liberty Center 49, Bryan 18
Montpelier 51, Bryan 18
Wauseon 73, Patrick Henry 12
Wauseon 69, Swanton 12 

Thursday, Jan. 10
Delta/Evergreen/Montpelier at Liberty Center 

Thursday, Jan. 17
Archbold/Bryan/Swanton at Evergreen 

Thursday, Jan. 24
Montpelier/Patrick Henry/Wauseon at Bryan 

Thursday, Jan. 31
Archbold/Liberty Center/Wauseon at Swanton