• Email Us


    Thank you for contacting us!

    Required fields not completed correctly.

  • Contact Us

    Northwest Ohio sports news web site featuring local & national games, news, video, streaming audio, real-time scores, Blachard River Buzz and much more.


    Sports Buzz at The Courier

    701 W. Sandusky St.

    Findlay, OH. 45840


    email us

Arcadia sweeps BVC girls top honors

It was an Arcadia sweep in the Blanchard Valley Conference this season.
The Redskins won the league championship and Miranda Palmer and Randy Baker swept the conference’s top awards as the BVC released its all-conference girls basketball selections for the 2012-13 season.
Named BVC Player of the Year, Palmer played a big role in the Redskins’ BVC championship season. A third-team all-Ohio selection last year, Palmer scored a league-best 21.4 points per game. The 5-6 senior guard, who will play college basketball for Huntington University, added 2.4 rebounds with 4.3 assists per game.
Baker guided Arcadia to a 19-3 overall record during the regular season in earning BVC Coach of the year honors. The Redskins finished with an 8-1 mark in the conference and claimed their first outright league title since the 1988-89 season.
Liberty-Benton’s Rachel Myers and Katie Simon, McComb’s Emily Clymer and Leipsic’s Amber Gerdeman joined Palmer on the all-BVC first team.
Myers, a 5-7 junior guard who has committed to Bowling Green State University, helped Liberty-Benton fashion a 17-5 record. She averaged 15.6 points, 4.3 rebounds and 2.7 assists per game.
Simon, along with Myers, helped provide the Eagles some scoring punch as the 6-0 sophomore forward tossed in a team-best 18.0 points with 8.0 rebounds per game.
Gerdeman, a 6-1 junior forward, averaged a double-double with 12.0 points and 10.9 rebounds per game. Clymer led McComb to a 15-7 record as the 5-11 junior forward netted 15.8 points with 5.2 rebounds per game.
Arcadia sophomore Molly Glick and junior Courtney Cramer were second team all-BVC selections along with Pandora-Gilboa junior Megan Maag, Arlington junior Dani Heaster and Leipsic junior Haley Gerten.

First Team
Miranda Palmer, sr., Arcadia; Rachel Myers, jr., Liberty-Benton; Emily Clymer, jr., McComb; Katie Simon, soph., Liberty-Benton; Amber Gerdeman, jr., Leipsic.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Miranda Palmer, Arcadia.
COACH OF THE YEAR — Randy Baker, Arcadia.
Second Team
Megan Maag, jr., Pandora-Gilboa; Molly Glick, soph., Arcadia; Dani Heaster, jr., Arlington; Haley Gerten, jr., Leipsic; Courtney Cramer, jr., Arcadia.
Third Team
Brenna Dee, jr., McComb; Courtney Dulle, sr., Cory-Rawson; Kaleigh Frampton, sr., Van Buren; Jordyn Webb, sr., Arlington; Vanessa McCullough, jr., Pandora-Gilboa.
Honorable Mention
ARCADIA — Regina Fox, sr.; Rebecca Kirian, jr. CORY-RAWSON — Kiley Scott, jr.; Kendra Tuttle, soph. LEIPSIC — Kelly Nadler, soph.; Shalynn Morman, soph. McCOMB — Briana Herr, sr.; Jenna Huffman, fr. VAN BUREN — Kristen Tropf., sr.; Morgan Flick, sr. ARLINGTON — Morgan Insley, sr.; Kathryn Joliff, sr. HARDIN NORTHERN — Chelsey Delong, sr.; Kylee Hooker, jr. LIBERTY-BENTON — Lauren Kotey, soph.; Carrie Reynolds, jr. PANDORA-GILBOA — Ashley Williams, sr.; Keri Conine, sr. VANLUE — Logan Frey, sr.; Katie Thomas, sr.