• Email Us


    Thank you for contacting us!

    Required fields not completed correctly.

  • Contact Us

    Northwest Ohio sports news web site featuring local & national games, news, video, streaming audio, real-time scores, Blachard River Buzz and much more.


    Sports Buzz at The Courier

    701 W. Sandusky St.

    Findlay, OH. 45840


    email us

Garber, Williman headline all-BVC boys basketball selections

Vanlue’s Zach Garber and Liberty-Benton’s Steve Williman took home the top honors as the Blanchard Valley Conference released its all-conference boys basketball selections for the 2012-13 season.
Williman took home coach of the year honors after guiding Liberty-Benton to another outstanding season. The Eagles racked up a 21-1 regular-season record and went unbeaten in BVC play, winning the conference by two games over Leipsic, Arlington and McComb.
Garber was a lock-solid choice for BVC Player of the Year after leading the league in scoring (23 ppg) and rebounding (12.1 rpg). The 6-foot-10 center, who will be playing for the University of Toledo next season, also blocked an average of 3.4 shots per game.
Joining Garber on the first team were Leipsic’s Devin Mangas, Liberty-Benton’s Ryan Geise, Arlington’s Andrew Hunter and McComb’s Dalton Buck.
Geise, a 6-0 junior guard, was the sparkplug for the Eagles as he tossed in 13.5 points per game with 1.9 rebounds and 1.5 assists.
Mangas, a 6-1 senior guard, scored at a 17.9 clip and added 3.5 rebounds and 2.7 assists.
Hunter, a 5-9 junior guard, helped lead the Red Devils to another solid season as he knocked down 13.0 points with 2.5 rebounds and 4.9 assists.
Buck, a 5-11 senior point guard, averaged 13.7 points with 3.5 rebounds and 1.5 assists per game for the Panthers.
Liberty-Benton senior Mitch Linhart, McComb senior Jerry Brown, Cory-Rawson senior Tyler Harris, Arlington junior Michael Blunk and Liberty-Benton junior Adam Cytlak were second team all-BVC selections.

First Team
Zach Garber, sr., Vanlue; Devin Mangas, sr., Leipsic; Ryan Geise, jr., Liberty-Benton; Andrew Hunter, jr.,
Arlington; Dalton Buck, sr., McComb.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Zach Garber, Vanlue.
COACH OF THE YEAR — Steve Williman, Liberty-Benton.
Second Team
Mitch Linhart, sr., Liberty-Benton; Jerry Brown, sr., McComb; Tyler Harris, sr., Cory-Rawson; Michael Blunk, jr., Arlington; Adam Cytlak, jr., Liberty-Benton; Zach Kuhlman, Leipsic.
Third Team
Austin Brown, sr., Leipsic; John Darnall, jr., Liberty-Benton; Grant Risner, jr., Cory-Rawson; Casey Mock, sr., Arcadia; Clay Grubb, soph., McComb.
Honorable Mention
ARCADIA — Hayden Ramsey, soph.; Shae Watkins, fr. CORY-RAWSON — Matt Alspach, soph.l Maycen Ward, sr. LEIPSIC — Aric Schroeder, sr.; Caleb Barrera, sr. McCOMB — Cody Wilson, sr.; Taylor Reardon, jr. VAN BUREN — Ryan Adolph, sr.; Ross Adolph, soph. ARLINGTON — Blaiz McBride, sr.; Jordan Freed, jr. HARDIN NORTHERN — Hayden Bradley, sr.; Rylie Drumm, jr. LIBERTY-BENTON — Zach Garver, jr.; Branden May, jr. PANDORA-GILBOA — Seth Schmenk, jr.; Abe Basinger, sr. VANLUE — Linden Smith, sr.; Josh Clymer, sr.