• Email Us


    Thank you for contacting us!

    Required fields not completed correctly.

  • Contact Us

    Northwest Ohio sports news web site featuring local & national games, news, video, streaming audio, real-time scores, Blachard River Buzz and much more.


    Sports Buzz at The Courier

    701 W. Sandusky St.

    Findlay, OH. 45840


    email us

Prep Basketball: Carey’s Tong, New Riegel’s Reinhart lead all-MAL picks

New Riegel senior Brandyn Reinhart and Carey senior Hannah Tong were selected as Midland Athletic League basketball players of the year in voting by the league’s coaches.
Fremont St. Joseph’s Jon Will and Carey’s Phil Vaughn were named boys and girls coach of the year, respectively.
Reinhart led the MAL in scoring with an average of 21.3 points per game. He shot 61 percent from the floor (181 of 293) and an MAL-best 79.1 percent from the free-throw line (106 of 134). Reinhard added 8.0 rebounds per game.
Carey senior Justin Meek (15.9 points, 3.9 assists, 3.0 steals) and New Riegel senior Korey Williams (12.3 points, 2.5 assists, 49 3-pointers) were also first-team selections.
Carey’s Jared Wentling, Hopewell-Loudon’s Alec Gregg and New Riegel’s Nick Wank were second-team picks.
Tong averaged 14.5 points and a league-best 10.0 rebounds per game. She also led the MAL in field goal percentage (119 of 212, 56.1 percent).
St. Wendelin senior Colleen Fondessy (17.4 points, 6.2 rebounds), New Riegel sophomore Kara Scherger (12.2 points, 3.0 assists, 3.9 steals) and Hopewell-Loudon senior Cassandra Hohman (14.7 points, 6.1 rebounds) were also named to the first team.
New Riegel’s Taylor Arbogast, North Baltimore’s Megan Wright, St. Wendelin’s Heather Saalman, Hopewell-Loudon’s Courtney Burns and Carey’s Hannah Draper were second-team selections.

All-Midland Athletic League
Boys First team
Brandyn Reinhart, sr., New Riegel; Hunter Perry, jr., Old Fort; Dalton Perry, sr., Old Fort; Ben Hahler, sr., Seneca East; Justin Meek, sr., Carey; Jordan Sessler, sr., Fremont St. Joseph; Drew Loose, sr., Mohawk; Korey Williams, sr., New Riegel.
Player of the Year — Brandyn Reinhart, New Riegel.
Coach of the Year — Jon Will, Fremont St. Joseph.
Boys Second Team
Cole Davidson, sr., Old Fort; Connor Dudley, sr., Fremont St. Joe; Jared Wentling, soph., Carey; Nathan Phillips, sr., Seneca East; Alec Gregg, sr., Hopewell-Loudon; Nick Wank, sr., New Riegel; Kody Brewer, sr., Lakota; Zack Yeckley, sr., Fremont St. Joseph.
Boys Honorable Mention
TIFFIN CALVERT — Nick Warnement, Austin Ball; CAREY — Zach Boes, Bryan Powers; Hopewell-Loudon — Tyler Imes, Ryan Lommerse; LAKOTA — Colin Timmons, Nate Ray; MOHAWK — Mitch Parker, Grant Ekleberry; NEW RIEGEL — Jake Dryfuse, Andrew Hohman; NORTH BALTIMORE — Jacob Frost, Jordan Watson; OLD FORT — A.J. Phillimore, Matt Hill; SENECA EAST — Ethan Caudill, Dylan Bordner; FREMONT ST. JOSEPH — Hunter Harrison, Ryan Williams; ST. WENDELIN — Gabe Walters; Zack Miller.
Girls First Team
Hannah Tong, sr., Carey; Colleen Fondessy, sr., Fostoria St. Wendelin; Kara Scherger, soph., New Riegel; Ashton Daniel, sr., Seneca East; Kate Brickner, jr., Tiffin Calvert; Lynsey Trusty, sr., Mohawk; Cassandra Hohman, sr., Hopewell-Loudon; Cassidy Frank, sr., Fremont St. Joseph.
Player of the Year — Hannah Tong, Carey.
Coach of the Year — Phil Vaughn, Carey.
Girls Second Team
Taylor Arbogast, soph., New Riegel; Olivia Smith, jr., Tiffin Calvert; Megan Wright, sr., North Baltimore; Heather Saalman, sr., Fostoria St. Wendelin; Courtney Burns, jr., Hopewell-Loudon; Hannah Draper, jr., Carey; Kasey Adelsperger, jr., Mohawk; Megan Funkhouser, sr., Tiffin Calvert.
Girls Honorable Mention
TIFFIN CALVERT — Nicole Bickley; CAREY — Sydney Wentling; Logan Johnson; HOPEWELL-LOUDON — Danielle Rohrbach, Lauren Trumpler; LAKOTA — Katie Park, Julie Adelsperger, Sarah Runion; NEW RIEGEL — Taylor Kirian, Lauren Ladd; NORTH BALTIMORE — Ricci Emahiser, Olivia Frost; OLD FORT — Mackenzie Gillett; SENECA EAST — Emily Depinet, Sienna Adachi; FREMONT ST. JOSEPH — Be Reardon, Brennan Reardon; ST. WENDELIN — Ali Mowrey, Kamryn Troike.