• Email Us


    Thank you for contacting us!

    Required fields not completed correctly.

  • Contact Us

    Northwest Ohio sports news web site featuring local & national games, news, video, streaming audio, real-time scores, Blachard River Buzz and much more.


    Sports Buzz at The Courier

    701 W. Sandusky St.

    Findlay, OH. 45840


    email us

Sectional Wrestling, Bowling begin in Friday

The road to the Ohio High School Athletic Association’s state wrestling tournament begins this weekend as area wrestling teams enter sectional tournament action throughout Northwest Ohio.
Area teams begin sectional action on Friday.
Findlay High School will compete in the Division I sectional at Mansfield Senior where the top four finishers in each weight class earn a trip to the Division I district at Cleveland State the following week.
Fostoria and Upper Sandusky will wrestle in the Division II sectionals hosted by Bowling Green State University’s Stroh Center. The top four wrestlers at each weight qualify for the Division II BGSU District tournament.
The bulk of the area’s squads will be at the Division III sectional at Carey. Area teams will also compete at sectional sites at Lake and Lima Central Catholic.
The top four in each weight at the Carey and Lake Sectionals advance to the Division III district at BGSU while the top four at LCC advance to the Division III district tournament at Troy’s Hobart Arena.

Sectional Wrestling
Division I
At Mansfield Senior
Anthony Wayne, Ashland, Cloverleaf, Findlay, Fremont Ross, Lima Senior, Mansfield Senior, Marion Harding, Perrysburg, Wooster.
NOTE: Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 3:45 p.m. Friday and 10 a.m. Saturday.
Division II
At Bowling Green State University
North Sectional
Toledo Central Catholic, Wauseon, Oak Harbor, Tiffin Columbian, Upper Sandusky, Napoleon, Sandusky, Galion, Celina, Rossford, Maumee, Elida, Ontario, Port Clinton, Toledo Rogers.
South Sectional
Sandusky Perkins, Clyde, Defiance, Lima Bath, Wapakoneta, Bellevue, Norwalk, Bryan, Lima Shawnee, St. Marys Memorial, Bowling Green, Fostoria, Kenton, Shelby, Toledo Scott.
NOTE: Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m. Friday and 10 a.m. Saturday.
Division III
At Carey
Arcadia, Bucyrus, Tiffin Calvert, Carey, Cory-Rawson, Hopewell-Loudon, Liberty-Benton, McComb, Mohawk, Riverdale, Fremont St. Joseph, Fostoria St. Wendelin, Van Buren.
NOTE: Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. Friday and 10:30 a.m. Saturday.
At Lima Central Catholic
Ada, Allen East, Bluffton, Coldwater, Columbus Grove, Fort Recovery, Delphos Jefferson, Lima Central Catholic, Lincolnview, Parkway, Delphos St. John’s, Spencerville, Van Wert, Wayne Trace.
NOTE: Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. Friday and 9:30 a.m. Saturday.
At Lake
Cardinal Stritch, Danbury, Eastwood, Elmwood, Gibsonburg, Genoa, Lake, Lakota, North Baltimore, Northwood, Ottawa-Glandorf, Otsego, Patrick Henry, Toledo Christian, Woodmore.
NOTE: Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 5 p.m. Friday and 10 a.m. Saturday.

Sectional bowling set
Area prep keglers will begin the post season on Friday when OHSAA sectional bowling tournaments get underway around the region.
Boys sectionals will take place Friday beginning at 5 p.m. as Ottawa-Glandorf competes at Minster’s Community Lanes, Patrick Henry and Fostoria bowl at Napoleon’s River City Bowl-A-Way and New Riegel will be in the sectional field at Port Clinton’s Star Lanes.
Girls sectional tournament will take place at the same sites the following day beginning at 12 noon.
The top four teams and four individuals at each sectional site earn a spot in the Division II district tournament at Lima’s Westgate Lanes the following week.

Sectional Bowling
Division II
At Minster Community Lanes
Coldwater, Lima Central Catholic, Marion Local, Minster, New Bremen, Ottawa-Glandorf, Parkway, St. Henry, St, Marys Memorial, Lima Temple Christian, Van Wert.
At Napoleon River City Bowl-A-Way
Bryan, Delta, Eastwood, Evergreen, Fostoria, Liberty Center, Napoleon, Patrick Henry, Rossford, Swanton, Tinora, Wauseon.
At Port Clinton Star Lanes
Clyde, Crestline, Fremont St. Joseph, Gibsonburg, Huron, Lakota, Lexington, New Riegel, Norwalk St. Paul, Port Clinton, Willard, Woodmore.