• Email Us


    Thank you for contacting us!

    Required fields not completed correctly.

  • Contact Us

    Northwest Ohio sports news web site featuring local & national games, news, video, streaming audio, real-time scores, Blachard River Buzz and much more.


    Sports Buzz at The Courier

    701 W. Sandusky St.

    Findlay, OH. 45840


    email us

Prep Sports: PH’s Petersen, Nickels earn all-league honors

Patrick Henry’s Josh Petersen and Joe Nickels, who pitched and powered the Patriots to a runner-up finish in the tough Northwest Ohio Athletic League, were first-team picks and Kollin Spence earned second-team honors in the all-NWOAL baseball selections for 2014.
Three Patrick Henry softball players also were recognized, with Kristin Bostelman earning first-team honors and Natalie Herder and Rachel Nye landing a spot on the all-NWOAL second team.
Petersen was 7-1 with a 1.25 ERA and 70 strikeouts in 56 innings work on the mound. The senior also batted .330, scored 24 runs and drove in 18.
Nickels, a sophomore, led Patrick Henry in hits (42), batting average (.404), doubles (9) and RBI (26), and was second on the team in runs scored (31).
Spence was 7-1 as a pitcher with a 3.34 ERA. He also batted .344 and drove in 20 runs in helping the Patriots go 7-1 in league play, 21-10 overall, and reach the Division IV regional finals.
Patrick Henry’s softball team was 5-3 in the NWOAL, 20-4 overall and also reached the Division IV regional, falling to Lakota in the Divison IV semifinals.
Bostelman batted .506 with three home runs and a team-leading 36 RBI.
Herder, a freshman, batted a team-high .523 and led the Patriots in hits (46), runs (45), doubles (15) and home runs (5) while driving in 28 runs. Nye also hit .506, scored 33 runs and led PH in stolen bases (18).

2014 All-NWOAL Baseball
WAUSEON — Ty Suntken, sr.; Axel Bueter, sr.; Jacob Newlove, jr. ARCHBOLD — Tyson Schnitkey, sr.; Evan Wyse, sr. BRYAN — Jordan Bostater, sr.; Bailey Martin, jr. PATRICK HENRY — Josh Petersen, sr.; Joe Nickels, soph. SWANTON — Clayton Ringle, jr.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Ty Suntken, Wauseon.
COACH OF THE YEAR — Trent Thomas, Wauseon.
ARCHBOLD — Jase Grosjean, sr.; Micah Bernath, sr. BRYAN — Deylen Miley, soph.; Nate Rau, jr. DELTA — Jeffrey McQuillin, sr. EVERGEEN — Jacob Dowling, sr. LIBERTY CENTER — Jarren Altman, jr. MONTPELIER — Cody Caudill, jr. PATRICK HENRY — Kollin Spence, sr. WAUSEON — Joshua Kauffman, jr.
ARCHBOLD — Chan Wyse, sr. BRYAN — Derek Knisely, jr.; Ian Morr, sr. DELTA — Wyatt Bronson, sr.; Trey Smith, sr.; Jesse Beverly, fr. EVERGEEN — Kyle Brighton, jr.; Jacob Willeman, sr. LIBERTY CENTER — Trevor Geahlen, jr.; Logan Meyer, jr.; Dylan Sexton, soph. MONTPELIER — Hunter McKelby, jr. PATRICK HENRY — Derek Hoops, sr.; Logan Ziegler, sr. SWANTON — Jacob Peabody, sr.; Liam Bloom, jr.; Matt Kusz, jr. WAUSEON — Jeremiah Kauffman, soph.; Clay Tefft, sr.; Nate Suntken, jr.
2014 All-NWOAL Softball
ARCHBOLD — Cassidy Wyse, sr.; Becca Gerig, sr.; Cassi Wyse, soph.; Jesse Fidler, sr. BRYAN — Tasha Tworek, jr. DELTA — Nikole Kern, sr.; Morgan Macionsky, sr. EVERGREEN — Taylor Monahan, sr.; Kendalyn Noe, sr. PATRICK HENRY — Kristin Bostelman, sr.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Cassidy Wyse, Archbold.
COACH OF THE YEAR — Joe Frank, Archbold.
ARCHBOLD — Jen Gerken, sr.; Payton Robinson, soph. BRYAN — Trista Savage, fr. EVERGEEN — Jessi Ducat, jr.; Ballie Brock, sr. LIBERTY CENTER — Lexi Noll, soph. PATRICK HENRY — Natalie Herder, fr.; Rachel Nye, sr. WAUSEON — Ashley Smith, jr.; Faith Hicks, sr.
ARCHBOLD — Paige Peterson, sr.; Natalie Beck, sr. BRYAN — Sierra Hughes, sr.; Breanna Kline, sr.; DELTA — Tess Osterhout, sr.; Hayley Callahan, fr.; Alexia Rudnicki, fr.; Alexa Lauch, jr. EVERGEEN — Amy Silvestri, jr.; Bevanne Pember, jr.; Eden Eisel, soph.; Erin Brant, jr. LIBERTY CENTER — Amelia Gilson, jr.; Katie Gilson, sr. MONTPELIER — Sidney Houk, jr.; Regan Steffes, sr.; Leslie Clark, sr.; Marianna Mercer, sr. PATRICK HENRY — Alexandria Crouse, sr. SWANTON — Emily Callicotte, jr.; Emily Maler, sr.; Tori Roth, sr. WAUSEON — Tiffany King, sr.; Olivia Banister, soph.; Hayley Chamberlin, soph.